ITIL® 4 Practitioner: Problem Management

The ITIL 4 Practitioner: Problem Management practice module is for IT professionals who want to ensure that errors in the live environment are identified, analysed, and, where required and possible, removed or fixed.

Benefits for service providers include:

  • Increased reliability of IT services
  • Reduced losses and costs caused by IT service unavailability or degradation
  • Fulfilment of the service quality targets
  • Reduced technical debt
  • More even and predictable utilization of IT support resources

Module Titles and learning outcomes:

Module 0: Welcome to ITIL 4 Problem Management Practice

Duration: 55m

Module zero introduces you to the course main features, learning plan, aims and objectives, and structure.
It also offers a syllabus, a diagram and tables pack, a further reading and links document and links to download essential copies of the framework publications. It also contains some of the most frequently asked questions about ITIL 4 Problem Management Practice.

Module 1: Key concepts

Duration: 1h
Module 1 explains the purpose and some key terms and concepts of the problem management practice. It then explains the practice success factors (PSFs) and the key metrics of the problem management practice.

Module 2: Processes and people

Duration: 1h

Module 2 begins by describing the four problem management practice processes: proactive problem identification, reactive problem identification, problem control and error control. It describes the inputs, outputs and key activities of the processes and how to integrate the problem management practice in the organization’s value streams.
The module goes on to describe the organizations and people involved in the practice. It describes the responsibilities of the key roles and how to position the problem management practice in the organizational structure.

Module 3: Enabling the practice

Duration: 1h

Module 3 completes the content for this course with a description of further concepts that enable the problem management practice.

We start by explaining automation and tooling, and providing recommendations for the automation of problem management.
The module goes on to discuss partners and suppliers, explaining the dependencies of the practice on third parties and how partners and suppliers can support the practice.
Capability is the next topic to be covered, with an explanation of how capability criteria support the practice capability development.
The module ends with recommendations for problem management practice success and how they’re supported by the ITIL guiding principles.

Module 4: The practice exams

Duration: 1h 5m

Module 4 contains two practice tests provided by PeopleCert.

Module 5: ITIL 4 Problem Management Practice wrap-up

Duration: 5m

Module 5 provides information on booking the exam and other courses of interest.

ITIL® 4 Practitioner: Problem Management exam:

  • This is a multiple-choice ‘Objective Test Question’ (OTQ) exam consisting of 20 questions
  • There is a time limit of 30 minutes to complete the exam
  • The exam is closed book, with only the provided materials being permitted for use
  • The pass mark for the exam is 65%
  • In countries where English is a second language, the time allocated for the exam is extended to 75 minutes


What is included?

  • Course guide
  • Diagram pack
  • Full transcript
  • Comprehension checks
  • Two practice exams


What is ITIL® 4 Practitioner: Problem Management?

The ITIL 4 Practitioner: Problem Management practice module is for IT professionals who want to ensure that errors in the live environment are identified, analysed, and, where required and possible, removed or fixed.

What are the prerequisites for ITIL® 4 Practitioner: Incident Management Practice?

ITIL® Foundation Certificate in IT Service Management OR
ITIL® 4 Managing Professional Transition Certificate

What is ITSM?

ITSM stands for ‘IT Service Management’. It involves using policies, procedures, and best practices to optimize IT services for clients and employees.

What is ITIL 4?

ITIL 4′ is the latest iteration of ITIL, the world’s leading framework for ITSM. It offers a series of best practices to help IT-powered organizations design, develop, and continually improve their IT services.

What does ITIL stand for?

Previously, ITIL stood for the ‘Information Technology Infrastructure Library’. The framework has evolved to the point where it is updated so often that it cannot be considered a static ‘library’. Because of this, the name no longer stands for anything.

What does the ITIL certification path look like?

Students must initially pass ‘ITIL Foundation’. Once a student has obtained ‘ITIL Foundation,’ they can go on to pass the ‘Practice Manager,’ ‘Managing Professional’ or ‘Strategic Leader’ streams. Obtaining all of the Practice Manager,’ ‘Managing Professional’ and ‘Strategic Leader’ certifications allows students to become an ‘ITIL Master.’

Students interested in a specific area of ITSM can take one of the four ITIL extension modules. These do not contribute to the ITIL Pathway.

How much is ITIL certification worth?

According to Payscale, certified ITIL practitioners can earn between $51,000 and over $259,000 (or £18,000 and over £118,000), depending on their experience, role, and certification level. Even sitting a Foundation course can have significant benefits for ITSM professionals.

How does ITIL work?

ITIL provides users with a set of best practices for creating optimized IT services. It establishes cultures of continuous improvement, ensuring that users can enjoy long-term benefits with IT services continually aligned with business goals and strategies. It also offers proven practices for resource optimization and continuous improvement.

How can ITIL benefit businesses?

ITIL 4 is a modern framework that fully equips users to optimize their IT practices. It creates cultures of continuous improvement, enabling organizations to deliver top-quality IT products and services whilst also continually reviewing their own processes.
The framework is also highly adaptable and can work alongside other popular approaches, such as DevOps. Finally, the framework is set to continue evolving to accommodate developments in technology and best practices. This makes ITIL future-proof for practitioner organizations.

What is AXELOS?

AXELOS is a trademark of PeopleCert, the organization behind a variety of highly popular best practice frameworks, including ITIL 4, PRINCE2, MSP, and AgileSHIFT.

What other frameworks can complement ITIL?

ITIL 4 can be integrated with several other frameworks, including Agile, DevOps, and Lean. Some practitioners even use it alongside PRINCE2.

We are Accredited By:

Self-Paced eLearning

Includes exam voucher



  • Fully accredited:
  • Mock Exams:
  • Exam voucher included:
  • Course duration: 5 hours
  • Access period: 3 months
  • Comprehension checks:
  • Quizzes & practice exams:
  • Mobile compatible:

Interested in Corporate Training for This Course?

Supercharge your organization’s learning and development with an award-winning training provider. Contact us today for a FREE quote!

This suite has a combined 97% 1st time pass rate and can increase your earning potential by up to 40%!