Awareness: ITIL® 4

Introduce yourself to ITIL 4 with this Awareness course from Good e-Learning!

ITIL 4 is one of the biggest names in the world of IT. The framework is used by businesses of all sizes and is often applied across teams and departments. This ITIL 4 Awareness course will introduce you to the key elements, terminology, and structure of ITIL 4, as well as the benefits of the framework. You will also learn about the certification path and how you can become an ITIL 4 practitioner.

Welcome to ITIL 4 Awareness

Learning Objectives

This module introduces the course, including its structure and what kind of resources will be present throughout. It also outlines what students can find in the resources area, including a diagram pack, glossary, and course guide.

Module 1: Introduction to ITIL 4

Learning Objectives

This module offers an introduction to ITIL 4, including what it is and how it enables and benefits ITSM. The module also looks at how ITIL has evolved over the years and how this led to the current structure of ITIL 4. Finally, the module takes students through the ITIL certification path and how they can achieve different levels of certification.

Module 2: The Key Concepts of Service Management

Learning Objectives

This module looks at the terminology and key concepts of ITIL 4, including terms that are essential for understanding ITIL in general. The module then examines value creation and co-creation, both of which are central concepts for the framework. Next, the module addresses the concept of ‘organization’ and how it can take on different roles before moving on to different service offering categories. The module ends by examining the definition of ‘service management’.

Module 3: The Key Components of the ITIL 4 Framework

Learning Objectives

This module starts by looking at the Four Dimensions Model and the Service Value System (SVS), two key elements of ITIL 4. The module then looks at two components of the SVS, the Service Value Chain (SVC) and the ITIL Guiding Principles.

Module 4: Overview of Key Practices in ITIL 4

Learning Objectives

This module addresses another element of the ITIL SVS, the ITIL Practices. Specifically, it covers the purpose of and relationship between the seven key practices in the Service Value Chain.

Module 5: Memory Game

Learning Objectives

This module features a memory game to review the key terms that have been covered in the course so far.

Module 6: ITIL 4 Awareness Wrap-Up

Learning Objectives

This final module brings the course to a close by revisiting the elements that have been covered throughout. Together, these pieces add up to the holistic ITSM approach that is ITIL 4.

Students are advised to download course materials to create toolkits for later reference.

No Exam With This Course

What is ITIL 4?

ITIL 4 is the latest iteration of ITIL, the world’s leading framework for ITSM. It offers a series of best practices to help IT-powered organizations design, develop, and continually improve their IT services.

How much can i earn with an ITIL certification?

According to Payscale, certified ITIL practitioners can earn between $51,000 and over $259,000 (or £18,000 and over £118,000), depending on their experience, role, and certification level.

What is AXELOS?

AXELOS is a joint venture company behind a variety of highly popular best practice frameworks, including ITIL 4, PRINCE2, MSP, and AgileSHIFT.

What is meant by ITSM?

ITSM stands for ‘IT Service Management’: using policies, procedures, and best practices to optimize IT services for clients and employees.

Who is this course aimed at?

  • Candidates looking for an introduction to ITIL 4

  • Organizations wishing to upskill members in what to expect from ITIL 4

  • Students who want to know more about the ITIL 4 framework before starting an ITIL 4 Foundation course

  • Team or department members who require an understanding of ITIL 4 in order to work with practitioners

  • Managers, CIOs, or stakeholders wishing to understand the framework and how it creates value

What will you learn by taking this course?

  • How the ITIL 4 framework is structured

  • The key elements of ITIL 4, such as the four dimensions of service management and ITIL’s Service Value System (SVS)

  • The terminology of the ITIL 4 framework and how it is utilized in practice

  • The benefits of studying ITIL 4 for individuals and businesses

  • How the ITIL 4 certification path works

Why should you take this course?

  • Good e-Learning is an award-winning online training company and an accredited Market Leader for online ITIL 4 training

  • ITIL 4 is the most widely used ITSM framework in the world. Understanding it can help candidates thrive in IT, project, and program teams

  • Investing in ITIL 4 training for staff will allow them to implement and utilize the framework with much greater efficiency and effectiveness

  • Having a widespread understanding of ITIL 4’s terminology in your business can be a great asset for collaboration

  • This course was created by e-Learning specialists

  • This ITIL 4 introduction course comes with a variety of engaging online training assets, including regular knowledge checks

We are Accredited By:

Self-Paced eLearning


  • Created by an expert:

  • Certificate of completion:

  • Course duration: 1 hour

  • Access period: 1 month

  • Tutor support:

  • Quizzes & practice exams:

  • Mobile compatible:

Good e-Learning achieves what many thought was not possible – an online course that is straight forward and gets some very complex material across in a fun and engaging manner. The materials are illustrated with easy-to-follow graphics, voice-overs and videos that make the subject matter memorable – especially important for preparing for the exam!

Interested in Corporate Training for This Course?

Supercharge your organization’s learning and development with an award-winning training provider. Contact us today for a FREE quote!

Introduce yourself, your team, or your entire organization to the ITIL 4 framework and its benefits!