Learning ITIL Poster 54 – The Deming Cycle

Published: April 2, 2018
Share on:

About this Resource:

One of the many approaches available in ITIL improvement activities is the Deming cycle.

This was devised by W. Edwards Deming, an academic who advised large companies on quality improvement, leading to higher-quality, increased productivity and a more competitive position for the organization.

Deming’s approach to quality improvement was encapsulated in the Deming Cycle. This approach is applicable to Continual Service Improvement and is used in the quality management systems of standards such as ISO/IEC 20000.

The four key stages of the cycle are Plan-Do-Check-Act (PDCA), followed by a phase of consolidation. Here we examine each step in turn.

If this ITIL resource interests you, why not view our range of ITIL courses? Or view our full library of downloads covering a wide range of subjects and domains!

IT Service Management Training

Content Expert: