Please note that for existing customers services will continue to operate as usual for the immediate period and you do not need to take any action.
TOGAF 9 certification

10 Tips For Upgrading to TOGAF 9.2®

Published: July 23, 2018
Share on:

If you are already TOGAF 9.1 certified but want to show that you understand the changes in TOGAF standard version 9.2, then you might want to get the TOGAF® Essentials 2018 credential.

Its purpose is to show that you understand the changes introduced to the TOGAF Body of Knowledge in 2018, and it is aimed at those who want to upgrade their TOGAF 9 Certification. (It can also be taken by trainers delivering courses on TOGAF 9.2).


It requires around 3 hours of training, followed by a 20-question (30 minutes) multiple-choice exam.

Now for my top 10 Tips on how to Switch From 9.1 to 9.2

1) You might find it helpful to consider TOGAF as an enterprise architecture and the transition between versions as a change from the current to a target state. 9.1 was a monolithic architecture with a 7-part structure; switching to 9.2 is the first step in the evolution of TOGAF towards a more agile and modular arrangement. The more you can imagine the various parts of TOGAF as elements in an integrated Body of Knowledge, the easier it is to understand the latest changes.

2) In 9.1, it was relatively easy to understand the structure of the document – simply by looking at the diagram, which I call the sandwich diagram (because the document parts were sandwiched between business vision and drivers and business capabilities).
In 9.2, the big picture is now the TOGAF library, with the TOGAF standard and the new sandwich diagram version as the central chunk.

3) Spend time to understand which components have been restructured and where they’ve been moved.

4) The idea behind the Enterprise Continuum has taken on a new significance, as it is now one of the two dimensions of the TOGAF library. Spend time to grasp this important concept and its role in enterprise architecture.

5) Become familiar with the distinction between the standard (i.e. TOGAF 9.2, TOGAF® Series Guides, Guides, and White Papers.

6) Resources in the TOGAF library show how to use TOGAF in different contexts. Be comfortable with how The Open Group uses architectural style – a combination of distinctive features related to a specific architectural context.

7) It is helpful to consider the degree to which each document in the TOGAF library is coupled to the TOGAF standard – ranging from dependent (tightly coupled), through supporting, to EA general.

8) You will need to be familiar with these documents in the TOGAF Library:

  • Business Scenarios;
  • Value Streams;
  • Business Capabilities;
  • Integrating Risk and Security within a TOGAF Enterprise Architecture;
  • Using the TOGAF Framework (sic) to Define and Govern Service-Oriented Architecture;
  • The TOGAF Leaders Guide to Establishing and Evolving an EA Capability;
  • A Practitioners Approach to Developing Enterprise Architecture Following the TOGAF ADM;
  • The TOGAF Integrated Information Infrastructure Reference Model;
  • The TOGAF Technical Reference Model. Note that some of these are relocated from the monolithic 9.1 documentation.

9) Thoroughly revise the Business Architecture content, which has some additional steps in the ADM, new artefacts, and new or changed definitions.

10) Get to know the changes in the Content Framework and Metamodel.

This is not an exhaustive list of changes between the two versions!!! These ten tips are in an order that I think is the best approach to make sense of the changes. In conjunction with the TOGAF® Essentials credential, you should understand the new release well.

To learn more about The Credentials program in detail, click here

If you or a member of your team is not TOGAF 9.1 certified but wish to become fully certified, we are offering discounts on both courses.

TOGAF Essentials 2018