togaf architecture framework diagram

What is a TOGAF Architecture Roadmap?

Published: March 8, 2021
Share on:

The TOGAF architecture framework has numerous deliverables. Over the course of an enterprise architecture (EA) initiative, the Architectural Development Method (ADM) will produce several assets that feed into each other and can even be reused in later projects. One of the most important of these is the ‘Architecture Roadmap’.

A TOGAF Architecture Roadmap is a list of individual packages of incremental change that, collectively, help EA teams to transition a ‘Baseline Architecture’ to an established ‘Target Architecture’.

The roadmap also lists the business value of each package, allowing stakeholders to see how changes will affect the organization even before a transformation is fully complete. Architecture Roadmaps also feed into ‘Transition Architectures’, which are intermediate versions of an architecture that is still moving towards a desired future state.


A Roadmap will be developed iteratively over several phases in the ADM:

  • Phase B – Business Architecture
  • Phase C – Information Systems Architectures
  • Phase D – Technology Architecture
  • Phase E – Opportunities and Solutions
  • Phase F – Migration Planning

In some cases, a unique roadmap may even be required for each layer.

However, while TOGAF defines requirements for a ‘Consolidated Architecture Roadmap’, it doesn’t actually go into great detail on what a roadmap should contain. This is largely because TOGAF is non-prescriptive, and different organizational architectures will often cover different elements and objectives.

The Open Group does, however, list the ‘Typical contents of an Architecture Roadmap:’

  • Work package portfolio:
    • Work package description (name, description, objectives, deliverables)
    • Functional requirements
    • Dependencies
    • Relationship to opportunity
    • Relationship to Architecture Definition Document and Architecture Requirements Specification
    • Business value
  • Implementation Factor Assessment and Deduction matrix, including:
    • Risks
    • Issues
    • Assumptions
    • Dependencies
    • Actions
    • Inputs
  • Consolidated Gaps, Solutions, and Dependencies matrix, including:
    • Architecture domain
    • Gap
    • Potential solutions
    • Dependencies
  • Any Transition Architectures
  • Implementation recommendations:
    • Criteria measures of effectiveness of projects
    • Risks and issues
    • Solution Building Blocks (SBBs)
TOGAF Banner

Learning about the TOGAF ADM

TOGAF 9.2 continues to set a high standard in the world of enterprise architecture. TOGAF certification is a popular target for career enterprise architects, and even now practitioners spend a great deal of time discussing the pros and cons of the framework, as well as how its application has advanced over the last several years.

Good e-Learning is a world-class online training provider with an award-winning portfolio of enterprise architecture courses. We also offer extensive free resources from highly experienced TOGAF practitioners, including videos and downloadable assets for studying offline.

We cover TOGAF at all levels, from the bare essentials to Foundation and Practitioner courses dedicated to helping students pass the official TOGAF certification exams. Visit the Good e-Learning website for a free trial, or contact a member of our team today to find out more!

Related Courses:

TOGAF, Enterprise Architecture

TOGAF® Enterprise Architecture: Foundation & Practitioner

TOGAF, Enterprise Architecture

TOGAF® Enterprise Architecture: Foundation

TOGAF, Enterprise Architecture

TOGAF® Enterprise Architecture: Practitioner

TOGAF, Enterprise Architecture

TOGAF® Business Architecture: Foundation

Related Resources: