The Open Group Releases TOGAF® Standard, 10th Edition

Published: April 29, 2022
Share on:

The Open Group has officially released TOGAF® 10th Edition, the latest version of the world-class TOGAF framework. With TOGAF 9.2 having been released just over four years ago, this marks a significant new point for the world’s most popular enterprise architecture framework.

Steve Nunn, CEO and President of The Open Group, said: “The Open Group shares a collective vision of Boundaryless Information Flow, and the release of the TOGAF Standard, 10th Edition is a powerful expression of that vision.”

TOGAF has long set a global standard in EA, boasting more practitioners than most competitor frameworks combined. This new release represents a major step forward in marrying TOGAF with numerous recent developments in business, technology, and general EA practices.

For example, ‘Security Architecture’, while not an official part of the ADM, is now given the same level of importance as other architectural layers. Various elements of the Digital Age also have their own layers, reflecting their increasing importance for businesses and EA specialists.

TOGAF® 10th Edition also offers a high level of future-proofing, with Mr. Nunn continuing that “the next decade of technology and business pressures will require organizations to be more agile, resilient, and adaptable than ever, and that will make a clear approach to architecture more important than ever.”

The framework itself was developed by The Open Group Architecture Forum, a collection of TOGAF practitioners and thought leaders who regularly discuss and publish on developments within the sphere.

Mr. Nunn continued: “The fact that the TOGAF Standard is a living body of knowledge is one of its great advantages. We have now arrived at a point where business strategy and digital solutions are inseparable, and organizations of every size, in every sector, face the need to establish Agile ways of working that continually evolve and adapt. The TOGAF Standard, 10th Edition shows how the TOGAF ecosystem is itself adapting to this reality, growing with businesses to deliver significant value in times of change.”

Chris Forde, VP of Enterprise Architecture at The Open Group, stated: “The TOGAF Standard, 10th Edition shows you where to find enduring and universal concepts. It highlights where to find stable, proven best practices. It underscores where to look for new emerging ideas. Bringing together universal concepts, best practice guidance, and emerging ideas is how you adapt the TOGAF Standard for your configured Enterprise Architecture practice.”

Blog Course Style Banners EA Certifications

What’s Changed With TOGAF® 10th Edition?

According to The Open Group, one of the main points of focus was easing the adoption of TOGAF, not only in terms of its existing best practices but also in relation to new and emerging areas. 

Announcing the new framework, The Open Group stated: ” The modular structure provides Enterprise Architects with greater guidance, and simpler navigation, for applying the TOGAF framework alongside its comprehensive fundamental knowledge base. By framing the knowledge base and the topic-specific guidance as separate, formal parts of the TOGAF Standard, the new release will also make it possible to release additional material more frequently while maintaining continuity and stability in its fundamental content.”

The framework also offers expanded guidance and how-to material, with much of it focused on the unique conditions and considerations of use cases such as digital transformation projects or Agile enterprise architecture. Indeed the TOGAF Series Guides that were previously treated as separate are now part of the official Standard.

What is TOGAF Fundamental Content?

This describes the building blocks at the heart of TOGAF® 10th Edition, including its core concepts, techniques, and the all-important Architecture Development Method (ADM).

They include:

  • Introduction and Core Concepts 
  • Architecture Development Method (ADM) 
  • ADM Techniques 
  • Applying the ADM 
  • Architecture Content 
  • Enterprise Architecture Capability and Governance

What are the TOGAF Series Guides?

The TOGAF Series Guides offer advice on configuring the fundamental content of TOGAF® 10th Edition. While not all of this content is new, it has been published separately from the main TOGAF documentation, the reason being that it makes understanding and applying the framework in specific areas much easier for practitioners and their organizations.

The guides include:

  • Business Architecture
  • Information Architecture
  • Security Architecture
  • Enterprise Architecture and Agile Architecture
  • Enterprise Architecture and Digital Enterprise
  • Technology Architecture
  • Microservices Architecture (MSA)/ Service-Oriented Architectures (SOA)
  • Adapting the ADM

The TOGAF Library also contains a number of supporting documents, including:

  • TOGAF Translations
  • TOGAF Industry Guidelines
  • Subjective Documents
  • Whitepapers 
  • Webinars
  • Study guides 
  • Reference cards
  • TOGAF Definitions

TOGAF® 10th Edition also offers more specific guidance and content for particular audiences, such as EA team sponsors, leaders, and team members. 

Can I Get Certified in TOGAF® 10th Edition?

Yes, Good e-Learning offers fully accredited courses on TOGAF Enterprise Architecture and TOGAF Business Architecture – all based on the updated TOGAF Standard, 10th Edition.

Check out the Good e-Learning website to find out more!